Published On: Fri, Apr 13th, 2018

Several senior SLFP leaders ditch ruling faction for petty political gains


As many as sixteen ministers who belong to the Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena’s Sri Lankan Freedom Party have resigned their posts in the ruling government days after the country’s Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremesinghe, successfully defeated the non-confidence motion.

At present, the country is supported by a national unity government, which was formed in the aftermath of the bloody civil war with the support of the United National Party led by Mr Wickremesinghe and a section of SLFP stands with Mr Sirisena, ousting the former autocrat, Mahindra Rajapaksa.

Lately, particularly after the local elections, some members of the SLFP who support the President and sit with him in the government expressed their intention to quit the ruling coalition which performed badly in the elections against the Rajapaksha-backed emerging nationalist party.

As a culmination of these developments, several SLFP members who are part of the coalition government voted in favour of the non-confident motion against the Prime Minister.

It is to be noted that all of these resigned ministers voted in favour of the non-confidence motion.

Noteworthy, the aforementioned political incidents expose the weakness of the Sri Lanka’s ruling coalition. Anyway, for the time being, the coalition is safe as it enjoys the support of several minority parties. But, until and unless the anti-nationalist or anti-Rajapaksa front finds more reasons to contain the growth of the Sinhala national movements, it continues to remain vulnerable to the emerging nationalist party’s threats.


Vignesh. S. G

Photo Courtesy: Google/ images are subject to copyright 

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :


Several senior SLFP leaders ditch ruling faction for petty political gains